Charter and Private Schools

pine springs.png

South Wake

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cardinal Charter Academy (Cary, NC)        

K-8 Public Charter School

Cardinal Charter Academy is a tuition-free public charter school that has a student-centered learning environment that is project-based and technology-driven, located in the heart of Cary, with easy access to I-40.   Cardinal is encouraging applicants in 4th, 5th, 6th, and 8th grade

Contact: Brian Bauer

Email: BBauer@cardinalcharter.org

Apply Now

Website

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pine Springs Preparatory Academy  (Holly Springs, NC)        

K-8 Public Charter School

Pine Springs is a strong academically performing charter school entering its fifth year. With a brand new 60,000 sq. foot middle school building opening for the 2021-22 school year Pine Springs is encouraging applicants in 6th, 7th, and 8th grade.            

 

Contact: Bruce Friend

Email: bfriend@pinespringsprep.org

Website: https://pspa.cfacademy.school/

image (6).png
DANC.png

East Wake

Cardinal Charter Academy at Wendell  (Wendell, NC)        

K-8 Public Charter School

Cardinal Charter Academy is a tuition-free public charter school that has a student-centered learning environment that is project-based and technology-driven, easily accessible to Knightdale and the Wendell area, with easy access to I-87.   Cardinal Wendell is encouraging applicants in 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th grade. 

Contact: Stephanie Klingler

Email: sklingler@ccawendellfalls.org

Apply Now

Website

 

 

 

 

 

 

Doral Academy of North Carolina  (Northeast Raleigh)        

Private PreK Program and K-8 Public Charter School

Doral Academy is a new public charter school serving grades K through 8th. Opening Fall 2021 with grades K-3 and a private PreK program. Encouraging applicants in Kindergarten, 1st, 2nd, 3rd as well as PreK                

Contact Email: info@doralacademync.com

Website

 

 

The Unity School  (Northeast Raleigh)        

Private Waldorf School

The Unity School is a new private Waldorf-inspired school currently serving grades PreK through 2nd. Encouraging applicants in Kindergarten, 1st, and 2nd

Contact Name: Lucy M Chartier

Contact Email: Theunityschool2020@gmail.com

To inquire about The Unity School 

image (5).png
Unity School.jfif
NRCA.png
MSR_spicebox_logo_IB_350px (1) (1).jpg

North Wake

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Franciscan School  (North Raleigh)        

Private K-8 Catholic School

The Franciscan school provides a Catholic education in the Franciscan tradition.

Accepting applications in grades Kindergarten through 8th

Contact Name: Principal Mike Watson

Contact Email: michael.watson@stfrancisraleigh.org

Website

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Montessori School of Raleigh (Northeast Raleigh)        

Toddler-G12 Private Accredited Montessori and International Baccalaureate World School, Two campuses - Toddler-Grade 6 (Raleigh) and Grade 7-12 (Brier Creek, Durham)

Seats available for 4th-11th.

Merit scholarships available for Grade 9 and 11.

             

Contact Name: Caroline Farrell

Contact Email: admissions@msr.org

Apply Here 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

North Raleigh Christian Academy  (Northeast Raleigh)        

PreK-12 Private Christian School

Encouraging applicants in 2nd, 4th, 6th, 7th               

 

Contact Name: Susan Dial

Contact Email: sdial@nrcaknights.com

Apply Here 

TFS New Logo-4.png

Don't forget to check back, new schools will be added as we confirm availability!

Interested in having your school included on this page? Our goal is to collect as many opportunities for parents as possible so if your schools has availability we would love to list you! 

Magnet Schools

 

The following Wake County Magnet Schools have seats available in select grade levels for priority applicants (any combination of High and Medium).  For questions or to apply contact Tamani Anderson Powell at tanderson-powell@wcpss.net

Brentwood ES  (wcpss.net/brentwoodes)

School of Engineering

Kristen McBryde(kmcbryde@wcpss.net)

 

Bugg ES (www.wcpss.net/bugges)

Design and Computer Science

Anna Dodd (adodd3@wcpss.net)

 

Conn ES (wcpss.net/connes)

Entrepreneurial Design

Carrie Bolding (cebolding@wcpss.net)

 

Dillard ES (wcpss.net/dillarddrivees)

Center for World Languages and Spanish Immersion

Carrie McKeown (cmckeown@wcpss.net)

 

Fox ES (wcpss.net/foxrdes)

International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme

Martha Hayes (mhayes2@wcpss.net)

 

Green ES (wcpss.net/greenes)

Leadership and World Languages

Tricia Seymour (tseymour@wcpss.net)

 

Hodge Rd. ES (wcpss.net/hodgeroades)

Spanish Dual Language

Allyn Arrowood (aarrowood@wcpss.net)

 

Millbrook ES (wcpss.net/millbrookes)

Environmental Connections

Randi Jones (rjones@wcpss.net)

 

Partnership ES (wcpss.net/partnershipes)

Interactive Community

Mary Martin (mmartin@wcpss.net)

 

Poe ES (wcpss.net/poees)

Gifted and Talented/AIG Basics

Christy Story (cstory1@wcpss.net)

 

Powell ES (wcpss.net/powelles)

Play and Ingenuity

Cris Laurens (claurens@wcpss.net)

 

Zebulon ES (wcpss.net/zebulones)

Gifted and Talented

Lawre Johnson (lljohnson@wcpss.net)


Centennial MS (wcpss.net/centennialms)

University Connections and Leadership

Lindsay Strickland (lstrickland2@wcpss.net)

 

Dillard MS (wcpss.net/dillarddrivems)

 Center for World Languages and Spanish Immersion

Jessica Nelson (jnelson1@wcpss.net)

 

East Cary MS (wcpss.net/eastcaryms)

Center for World Languages and Global Studies

Teikeisha Beddoe (tbeddoe@wcpss.net)

 

East Millbrook MS (wcpss.net/eastmillbrookms)

Academy of Visual and Performing Arts

Joanna Caves (acaves@wcpss.net)

 

Reedy Creek MS (wcpss.net/reedycreekms)

Center for the Digital Sciences

Christine Sachs (csachs@wcpss.net)

 

Athens Drive HS (wcpss.net/athensdrivehs)

Medical Sciences and Global Health Initiatives

Tonya HInton (tchinton@wcpss.net)

 

Millbrook HS (wcpss.net/millbrookhs)

International Baccalaureate Middle Years and Diploma Programmes

Loren Baron lbaron@wcpss.net)

LaShonda Haddock (lhaddock@wcpss.net)

 

Southeast Raleigh HS (wcpss.net/southeastraleighhs)

University Connections: School of Design, Arts and Engineering

Meghan McCollum (mmccollum@wcpss.net)

 

Wake Young Men’s Leadership Academy (wcpss.net/wakeyoungmen)

Early College

Kevin Murray (kmurray@wcpss.net)

 

Vernon Malone College and Career Academy

www.wcpss.net/vernonmalonecca)

Early College

Jill Oliver (oliver@wcpss.net)

North Wake College and Career Academy

(wcpss.net/northwakecca)

Early College:  academic-based application

magnets.png
Empty Classroom

Open Seat Report
2021

Finding availability in your ideal school can be difficult if you are new to the area or even if you are local and just looking to change schools. Many schools have already closed their applications.  However, there is often movement among schools after selections are made and throughout the summer. SchoolUp is working to compile a list of schools that have limited availability and are encouraging families to apply. 

 

New schools will be added as we confirm availability!  We strive to keep this list updated regularly, however, due to high demand there is no guarantee. Please contact the schools you are interested in directly to confirm availability. 

_edited_edited_edited_edited.png